Fear is death, or so Paul Atreides has been taught. To survive the treacherous desert world of Arrakis, Paul must master his emotions and learn the ancient wisdom of the Bene Gesserit, a secretive and powerful organization. Only then can he reclaim his stolen birthright…

Dune Book Cover

Written By: Frank Herbert

I give up. I tried, but the boredom engulfed me like a tidal wave of quicksand. Ten years ago I would probably have loved Dune. It has all the elements of a great Fantasy/Sci-Fi novel: an interesting world, magical powers, secret cults, conspiracies, Chosen Ones, ect. However, Dune suffers from a critical flaw: the presence of the protagonist roboticus.

All the characters sound so lifeless and mechanical. A page doesn’t go by without one of them spouting off some wise religious epithet….and the monologues, Oh! the monologues. The characters don’t breathe any life into the story because they themselves have none. The people that populate this world are but mechanical vehicles constructed to deliver a message.

I just wanted one of the ferocious sandworms to emerge from the dunes and put these poor souls out of their misery. Actually that might be it! Everyone is so serious and miserable in this story. Not a hint of humor, never a sign that the world is something to enjoy.

Reading this book, I became lost in a storm that held little meaning and emotion for me. Then, I decided. I had traversed two-thirds of this volume and gained nothing. Why continue? After all I had already experienced this story elsewhere but with a lot more spirit and fun included. So I will jaunt on over to the Star Wars universe leaving the Dune universe, thankfully, behind.

